It’s About That Time… Yo Joe!

G.I. Joe

You all know what time it is… Well, if you don’t it’s 10:30pm EST and I am about an hour and a half from seeing G.I. Joe: Rise of Cobra. Yes, I have heard the reviews and I know they didn’t include Roadblock, but I don’t give a damn. I don’t turn down your Miley Cyrus or turn off Lost while you’re watching it. Let me have my obsession! That said, check back here in a few hours for my “spirited” review…

UPDATED…

OK, fresh back from the midnight showing of G.I. Joe and I have to say it was good… OK, not great but not terrible — so it was good. Yes, Marlon Wayan’s Ripcord was a little coontastic at times and Breaker (Saïd Taghmaoui) was completely useless (could he have an inaction figure?), but Sienna Miller’s Baroness was ridiculously over-the-top and awesome and the evolution of both Destro and Cobra Commander’s characters were great, if not a little contrived. And what kind of G.I. Joe nerd would I be if I didn’t mention the Snake Eyes/Storm Shadow dynamic. Great final fight sequence, although the backstory was told better here.

(BTW, the trailer really doesn’t do the film justice.)

All that said, if you’re a true ’80s baby and/or you just want to see a good action flick (read: a great popcorn movie), then see G.I. Joe: Rise Of Cobra. If not, there’s always this or this.

G.I. Joe

G.I. Joe

And just for old time’s sake…

Destro

"COBRA!!!!!!!!"

"COBRA!!!!!!!!"

2 responses to “It’s About That Time… Yo Joe!

  1. Pingback: Hollywood, This Plan Better Come Together « Rashaun Hall’s Blog

  2. Pingback: Hollywood, This Plan Better Come Together

Leave a Reply

