G.I. Joe Gets Grown

G.I. Joe: Resloute

Dear God, thank you for fulfilling a childhood dream with the forthcoming live-action G.I. Joe movie… Please make sure it doesn’t suck! G.I. Joe: Resolute, [adult swim’s] animated take on the ’80s toy/cartoon icon (screw you, Transformers fans), rocks.

Hasbro recently announced that G.I. Joe: Resolute, an adult fan oriented animated mini-series, will be broadcast via Cartoon Network’s Adult Swim on television tonight (April 25) as well as online.  Based on the classic G.I. Joe brand, Hasbro created 60 minutes of total content for this new story which will be presented as 11 episodes.

On April 17, fans were first able to see the first five minutes of the brand new, stand-alone animated mini-series on AdultSwim.com.  These episodes are broken down to ten 5-minute episodes and one 10-minute finale.  Following the first episode on April 17, subsequent installments were posted on the Adult Swim website leading up to a full presentation of the entire series.   This finale will be broadcast on Adult Swim tonight at midnight.  This televised event will not only feature all episodes seen online, but will be the first time fans can watch the final 10 minutes of the G.I. Joe: Resolute saga.  All episodes, including the finale, will be available to view online after this airing.

G.I. Joe: Resolute

In the mini-series, iconic characters such Duke, Snake Eyes, Scarlett and Roadblock will do battle with Cobra Commander, Destro, Baroness and Storm Shadow. Check out the trailer below:

So, being the G.I. Joe geek that I am, I have watched the first six webisodes of G.I. Joe: Resolute. Here are my thoughts:

  • Why does Roadblock have to speak jive? It’s 2009… seriously.
  • I get the whole love triangle between Duke, Scarlett and Snake Eyes. Can anyone say AWK?
  • WTF is Destro as big as Roadblock? This is the Destro I know and love.
  • People actually die in this series… Awesome! I won’t say who but… I wasn’t mad.

BTW, here’s a trailer of the aforementioned live-action G.I. Joe flick. Slated to drop August 7th, this flick (Marlon Wayans or no Marlon Wayans) better be good.

3 responses to “G.I. Joe Gets Grown

  1. So fucking cool! We should discuss who might be cast as the voice of GI Joe, etc!!

  2. Pingback: It’s About That Time… Yo Joe! « Rashaun Hall’s Blog

  3. Pingback: It's About That Time… Yo Joe!

Leave a Reply

