That’s One Tough Box

Otterbox

OtterBox BlackBerry Bold Defender Series

Truth be told, I am tough (notice I didn’t say hard… pause) on my gadgets. Case in point, I dropped my WHITE iPod 4G in the snow… of my driveway… and I didn’t find until the spring thaw. Needless to say, it was “roadkill.” If only I had an OtterBox case or even knew about OtterBox back then.

Fortunately, I can pass this wisdom on to you. OtterBox mastermind and CEO Curt Richardson founded the company in 1996. According to their site, their cases are “dedicated to all the klutzy, spontaneous, chaotic, graceless individuals who have broken a device or valuable due to their active lifestyle.” Check… and check. Otterbox has products to protect iPod’s, smartphones, PDA’s, Tablet PC’s, laptops and other devices.

Otterbox

So, why OtterBox? On a drive to Denver, Curt and his wife Nancy were brainstorming company names. The name needed to be exciting and something people wouldn’t forget. They wanted “box” to be in the name, but also wanted to incorporate “water” because the original OtterBox case line is waterproof (oceanic tidbit: an Otter’s fur has a waterproof quality). Because of their fun, playful disposition “Otter” was the perfect fit!

Otterbox

While OtterBox products may be a little cumbersome (to say the least), the Defender Series for the BlackBerry Bold (seen above) more than did the job of keeping my smartphone safe and sound. And that’s saying a lot for me. Click here for more OtterBox products!

Leave a Reply

