The Genius of Solange

CREDIT: GIANT magazine

CREDIT: GIANT magazine

Was that headline dramatic enough for you? Anyway, quite a few of my old colleagues used to ride me (pause) because I was a Solange supporter but how can you deny her talent when she drops a banger like “T.O.N.Y.”…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

While she may not have all the assets of her older sister, Solange has this “Fuck you, I’m famous” steez that I find endearing. She’s kind of like the female version of Kanye West — hiding her insecurities with pure arrogance. And damnit if Sol-Angel and the Hadley St. Dreams wasn’t one the most slept on albums of 2008 (dumb title though). Yup, I said it.

3 responses to “The Genius of Solange

  1. This video is dope. I was late on the Solange train and still have some catching up to do, but I love her “Fuck what you think, Ima do me” steelo.

    Bey is nice, but she plays it safe. Solange is less inhibited and feels like a real person. I dig that shit

  2. Appreciate the comment, Luke.

  3. I loves me some Solange, dude. I like the lane she walks and how she walks it. She is definitely her own person and her music shows that.

    I had that album early and I’m glad to see that you also had an appreciation for it. I’m not mad at the title either!

Leave a Reply

